School Logo

Blessed Sacrament Catholic Primary School

With Christ’s love at the centre of our living and learning,
together we aim for excellence

Get in touch

EYFS Curriculum Information

The Early Years Foundation Stage

 The Early Years Foundation Stage is the period of education from birth to 5 years. At Blessed Sacrament School, it begins in the Nursery class and ends in Reception.There is a strong emphasis on learning through play, both child initiated and planned play.

The curriculum is delivered through a combination of whole class activities, adult led focused activities and child initiated activities.

The new EYFS framework has a stronger emphasis on the three prime areas which are most essential for children’s healthy development. These three areas are: communication and language; physical; and personal, social and emotional development.

How do Children learn in the Early Years?